Oh The Carruthers/Carrothers!

Carruthers Clan Societycarrotherstartanframe

Some things are just meant to be!  Almost 30 years ago, I started working on my mothers side of our family history.  My grandmother would tell me stories about her Uncle Pat, that made his own booze in the bathtub, had to have half his stomach removed and still kept making more.  One story after another, and sometimes the same story many times, but always with love and passion as a grandmother could tell.

One can not do your mothers family and not your fathers.  There were many things my mother was rightfully proud of in her family line, but every time I found out something about the Carrothers, you could see the pride on my dads face.  As a beloved daughter as I was, I had to continue to bring that smile to his my dads face.

Thirty years ago there were no computers, or ancestry sites to go to.  You started with a pen and paper, and put a lot of money away for those trips one had to take.  There are some people that worked on our line before I did, and when years went by we finally met up in our research . I have to thank John Carrothers in Canada.  He did a tremendous amount of vacations and trips to both Ireland and Scotland getting information. He has worked tirelessly with more passion and love in his heart for his family.

Moving into modern times, family history moves faster, but the past is most important. I have to thank Tim Frasier from both Scotland and Australia.  He has worked on two archaeological digs that I will talk about as being one of the biggest breakthroughs out family has had.  He is one of the scientist who have traced the Carruthers line back to 500 B.C., and then we were know as Ashmen.

We arrived in Scotland around 400 A.D.  Now how do they know that?  Then have used digital DNA findings to trace this large group of men.  I mean large in size, not necessarily numbers.  In this study they used DNA to trace our family and in the last ten years they have tested over 16,000 Carruthers and we all have the same 26 DNA findings.  Every single Carruthers tested positive for the same 26 DNA links that date back to 400 B.C.   This is most unusual, and these findings have lead to another archaeological dig, I believe in northern England.  I will be able to share more of these later.

Let me give you a little warning.  When you see these places who will test your DNA, remember that those are subsidized by your government, and they get to keep your DNA.  This may not sound important, but it is.  I have been a medical practitioner for more that 30 years, and this is a professional opinion.  Prior to World War II, they collected blood samples which are still being used in Germany to this day.

Just Interesting!

We have an email address of CarrothersClan@gmail.com.  You are always welcome to send questions or opinions, but we are always looking for people who have done any family history, and are willing to help someone else.  We are on facebook at Carruthers Carrothers.

There are two of us who have started this, my name is Pat, and the other Carrothers is also Pat.  So , it does not matter who you address your opinions to, they will be handled by Pat!

Carruthers Carrothers Pat on Facebook

CarrothersClan@gmail.com

Carruthers Clan Society

 

 

 

About carrothersclan

After studying the history, the stories and even the tears of the Carrothers Journey, it is time to start writing them down so all the Carrothes can read them. When I learned that there is DNA proof that we are all related, it is time to join together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

